How to Use Computer Management Console to Log Off a Computer Remotely in Windows XP or Windows Server 2003

 

How to Use Computer Management Console to Log Off a Computer Remotely in Windows XP or Windows Server 2003

 

Real-World Scenario: You have two clients named Client-02 and Client-01 that run Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 2 (SP2). Both clients have Remote Desktop disabled. A user named User1 logs on to Client-01 locally. You log on to Client-02 locally. You need to log User1 off Client-02 remotely. You must achieve this goal without restarting Client01. Which tool should you use on Client-02?

 

One solution for this scenario is to use Computer Management console. Please look at the following figures:
















Note 1: To remotely log off a computer, you must have administrative credential on that system.

Note 2: Firewall must be configure properly on the remote system.

 

How to Get Total Memory Available & Total Memory Used Remotely | Windows 7 , XP , Vista

How to get total physical memory (ram) information in GB by WMI query?

 

 

1.  wmic ComputerSystem get TotalPhysicalMemory && wmic OS get FreePhysicalMemory,TotalVirtualMemorySize,FreeVirtualMemory

 

2.         systeminfo | findstr "Memory"

OUTPUT

 

OUTPUT

 

 

 

Find actual total physical memory using a command in Windows 7

 

 

How to Delete your USERPROFILE SID REGISTRY | A temporary profile is loaded after you log on to a Windows

 

You receive a "The User Profile Service failed the logon” error message

 

1.       To resolve this problem yourself, follow these steps:

1.       Delete the profile by using the Computer Properties dialog box. To do this, follow these steps:

a.       Click Start, right-click Computer, and then click Properties.

b.       Click Change settings.

c.        In the System Properties dialog box, click the Advanced tab.

d.       In the User Profiles area, click Settings.

e.       In the User Profiles dialog box, select the profile that you want to delete, click Delete, and then clickOK.

2.       Click Start, type regedit in the Search box, and then press ENTER.

3.       Locate and then click the following registry subkey:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList

4.       Right-click the SID that you want to remove, and then click Delete.

2.       Log on to the computer and create a new profile.

 

 

 

Disable Windows 8 fast startup (hibernate file)

Disable Windows 8 fast startup (hibernate file)

 

Windows 8 fast startup is a new feature which speeds up the startup process by creating a hibernate file which contains system configuration data and is re-loaded each time a PC starts up.  In most cases, if Windows 8 detects a change in the PC configuration, it will ignore the hibernate file and perform a normal startup process which reloads the kernel, services, device drivers and applications. 

However in some cases it's possible that a change in the configuration may not be detected correctly and you may get an error message stating that your configuration conflicts with the Windows 8 hibernate file configuration.  If you swap PC components regularly on a Windows 8 PC you may want to experiment with disabling the Windows 8 fast startup feature to avoid these potential startup issues.

To disable Windows 8 fast startup:

1) Open the Windows 8 Control Panel

2) Select Power Options icon from within the Control Panel (if you do not see the icon, select Large Icons from View by: drop down box on the top right hand corner of the Control Panel).

 

3) From the Power Options panel, select Choose what the power buttons do from the left column:

4) Next, click on Change settings that are currently unavailable.  You will need to be logged in as an Administrator to change this setting.  Then you will notice the setting Turn on fast startup (recommended) will no longer be greyed out.  You may remove the check box and click Save changes to confirm. 

For more information on Windows 8 fast startup, please visit: 

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/b8/archive/2011/09/08/delivering-fast-boot-times-in-windows-8.aspx

 

 

 

What happens to Windows 7 after the 30 day activation has expired?

What happens to Windows 7 after the 30 day activation has expired?
After the 30 Days Of Activation (Windows 7)


What happens if you don’t Activate Windows?
If you choose not to activate Windows, the operating system will go into what is called Reduced Functional mode. Meaning, certain functionality will be disabled.
Benefits you gain from activating:
- Access to all Windows Updates with confidence that your Windows software has the latest security and reliability enhancements from Microsoft.
- Support for your software, including downloads reserved exclusively for genuine Windows software.
A Windows 7 installation in Reduced functional mode (notice the watermark at the right hand corner).
If you don’t activate your Windows software
- You will be prompted every time you log in to Activate.
- You will receive periodic prompts to activate your software.
- Certain visual experiences will be disabled such as the Windows Aero Glass theme.
- Won't be able to update software such as Microsoft Security Essentials.